A New Year and A New Blog

January 10, 2012

Spent Hydrangea flowers after a frost.

I’ve wanted to create a blog devoted entirely to my “shutterbug fever” for quite some time and this is it.

I have a large archive of thousands of images I’ve taken since 2006. They’ve been taking up space on my PC in various formats, not really earning their keep, so they need to go out in the world now.

I can’t guarantee they’ll win any photography competition, but their good enough to warrant some minor attention. So, let the display begin.

Point Wilson Lighthouse at Fort Worden State Park

Positive and constructive criticism is welcomed.

I don’t pretend to know all that much about the technical details of fine photography. I think I have a good eye and wish that my skills were more finely honed to match my artistic sense.

If you live near me, I think you’ll enjoy seeing images of your local environment. If not, I hope you’ll enjoy visual documentation of a place that is foreign to you. I also hope that seeing these images will inspire you to document your own locale.

The world is changing very rapidly. Natural areas are disappearing due to the encroachment of mankind’s sometimes extremely destructive needs and desires. Your personal images will provide a record of how life was at this time. The images may also impress some with the desire to work for a sustainable natural environment. In my humble opinion, there is nothing uglier than a clear cut or a new subdivision where once a wetland, forest, fields and streams, a bounty of wildlife, existed. There is no good reason to sacrifice nature for supposed progress.

So, please, grab your camera and get out into nature. It will improve your life in so many ways you won’t believe it. It has not only changed the way I see things but improved my sometimes tenuous health.

Welcome to Picturing Port Townsend. I hope you will enjoy your visit.

Quilcene, Washington

 

All images copyright 2012 by G.W. German. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

